I am excited by simple things again

I was firmly convinced for many years that there are things which I am hopelessly incapable of doing and happily kept topping up this list over the last 6 months.  But there comes a time in your treatment after a long period of enforced abstinence that you actually get excited by the simple things in life again.  

Like X factor, I am sure the novelty will wear off soon, but at the moment I am enjoying:

  • Browsing around a supermarket and thinking of inventive things to do with chick peas or lentils
  • Making fire
  • Tidying the house and chucking out stuff

And finally, dipping my toe back into the workplace. This new style of ‘working’ is most agreeable.  It involves popping in to catch up with your team, colleagues and boss etc.  If you have been AWOL for the last 6 months, you will get many reactions.  The most common are big bear hugs and exclamations of “You look good” coupled with the confession “You looked pretty dog rough before you went off sick, but being British we didn’t want to say”. 

There are inevitably also a few people who won’t meet your eyes and are excruciatingly embarrassed that you are ill and terrified you will want to talk to them about it.  And for goodness sake it involves bowels!  Double no-no.

But the oddest thing is time, a concept I am frequently reminded is hopelessly unreliable for measuring anything, a guaranteed candidate for room 101 if you ask me. For example, the last 6 months have involved such a dizzingly fast amount of change and head rewiring that I feel at the very least it’s comparable with running a small Euro zone country.  And yet, for my work colleagues there appeared genuine shock I had been away that long; some thought I was just a bit late back from lunch, and were still busy working on many of the same familiar projects! One colleague wasn’t even aware I had popped out for lunch! I am choosing to view this as an example of how much work takes over our life, rather than the other less flattering interpretation…

Change is another difficult one to get your head around, especially if you just rely on the evidence of your eyes. The journey to work including traffic jams was unchanged, the office looked the same give or take a few rounds of musical chairs. To the naked eye, everyone looked the same.  My office still had my to-do lists on the wall. 

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose is all I can say!

p.s. In yet another case of “open mouth too soon” syndrome, I have been caught out again when my loo played a practical joke on me and the overflow overflew yesterday evening.  Managed to turn it off with a knife doubling up as a screwdriver and diverted Richard, my friend’s handy husband away from his valentine treat to mend it.  Totally sure I will not add plumbing to my list of challenges.

9 thoughts on “I am excited by simple things again

  1. And how about you waking up to no water after the coldest night of the year ? Your inventive use of the your hairdryer to thaw the pipe was another example of “being excited by simple things” which proved very effective ! Well done you.
    Dad and Mum xxxx

  2. Seeing things simply takes a lot more than you’d imagine. G’dad (mum used to say) had a great ability for boiling things down to the pertinant issue. Pertinant is not a simple word which explains why I cannot spell it.
    Mr Einstein said: Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.
    I think I was made simple – any simpler and I would have been in hospital with a fork in my eye!
    lots of love
    xxxx

  3. It was sooooooo lovely to see you on Tuesday Rach, Let me know when you’re next in. And I seriously meant what I said the other day, you really need to find out a way of making money out of blogging!! How’s the hair this morning? xxx

  4. I’ve managed to pick up my jaw now Rachel, still can’t believe that 6 months had passed since I’d seen you….. I really should get back into the office. Your blog is quite the read, who would have thought a marketing Chick would have the gift of the gab. It was great to see you. I’ll let you know when Suz is about, hope you’ll join us for a good gossip. Keep writing x

  5. Tuesday – the one day of the week when I’m in the office. Except I wasn’t this week. Darn! Hope we don’t have to wait too long before your next visit.

  6. Jen et al down to lunch 2day & left us with print out of Freaky Friday. Not an unkind thought in the situation you are in but found the format amusing. Jen translated.
    Jean & I so pleased to learn that you’re more than half way thro’ the course & more particularly, have weathered this latest treatment feeling jolly site better than hithertoo.
    Often in our thoughts
    Jean & William T

    • Thanks Jean and William and welcome to the world of blogging! You are so down with the kids now. Your daughter has been the best tonic I could wish for, both for me and the other patients in chemo ward 1 and 2! xxx

Leave a Reply

