What a day!

Yesterday I had the rarest of days and went for a girly lunch on my birthday at my parent’s house and it was a real super sized tonic.  As I wasn’t sure until the day whether I would be well enough, the lunch was organised with 5 seconds notice by my BF Jenny and included relatives some of which were so rare only a few sightings or news had been received from them until recently.  So it came to pass that a whole bunch of them who don’t normally feed in public together turned up and were without exception, mad as badgers.  After a few “you look better than I thought” rituals and the passing of cards bearing giraffe motives, I took a few moments out for a quick radio interview with BBC Oxford who wanted an update on the growth of a giraffe out of my roof. Then it was down to a lunch fit for a forever changing her mind cancer diva!

Jenny, I have decided is the type of person who is impossible not to love and I am sure everyone who meets her must fall under her spell and agree to anything she says.  Yesterday, she pulled together the most delicious of meals with more ease than I could display un-wrapping a supermarket sandwich, but I swear she could even feed a puppy into a blender, garnish with a sprig of parsley and ask everyone if they want seconds and we would still say “Oh yes please, she’s such a nice person you know”.

The day went so well, I didn’t even notice myself slipping down the hill of the 40’s mountain and into the next survey bracket. So…. if you want to sit and laugh for hours and forget the existence of sickness, time and space then my cousins are your man.  If, however you prefer to discuss the state of your latest tax return or your bunions, then please go and live in a different universe!

click here for the BBC OXFORD interview

7 thoughts on “What a day!

  1. A memorable birthday that looked like it would never happen as we thought you would be unable to haul youself out of your” sick ” bed! A thousand thanks to you wonderful people who travelled so far to put that smile back on Rachel.s face and give us an unforgettable day. Keren.

  2. Well what can I say. If you want the recipe for puppies I have it. If you want to know how to open a supermarket sandwich I have that too.
    If you want your chemo ‘husband’ to declare to the world of cousins and aunties and mums that you, special chef, are known in the village as not only a lesbian but also a drunk driver then I highly recommend you spend time with Rachel’s chemo ‘Brian’. In front of her lovely father too.
    But I have payback…I have photo evidence that i cannot post here … but i could easily swing a collar on a 40 foot giraffe..

    • Oops yes I do have a case of chemo ‘Brian’ or tourettes and alternate between saying absolutely nothing for days on end and then rabbeting my head off!

      Thank you everyone again for the best of company and love and laughter. Xxx

    • Hahahahaha! Pleeeeease don’t worry Jen, your absolutely DEEEEEEELICIOUS lunch and company more than made up for your past indiscretions!

      Laughter is a great tonic (even without a gin). Thank you Aunty Keren and Uncle Aidan being wonderful hosts – it was a lovely day and nice to catch up with family and friends we don’t get round to seeing often enough.

      Rachel, maybe you could be like the Queen and have more than one birthday a year? xxxxx

  3. I was thinking of you just now and thought that I would check in. Sorry not to catch up earlier. Delighted to hear that BBC Radio Oxford is still monitoring your progress – super stuff! Happy to catch up on the phone whenever it works for you. XXX

Leave a Reply

