Almost as hot as the Maldives but not nearly as pleasant!

What a day, not quite the walk on the beach I hoped.  Molly (Jenny’s car) insisted on bringing her to me this morning so I arrived with Jenny and Tim to be told we only have room for 1 visitor and no seats! 

The chemo room was full to overflowing with people wired up and sounded earily like a field of crickets from the clicking from the chemo drips.  I was put in a upright uncomfortable seat by the radiator and told that’s all we have today as have too many patients in and not enough staff.  Then in a voice which could be heard at least 2 floors down, my nurse said “Oh you have a portacath, that’s only for patients who are private!”.  Grimace.  “But it makes no difference here, you all get the same treatment here or lack of seats”.  Ouch, floor opening up yet? “Hopefully we can empty these seats in the next hour” (pointing to reclining seats full of human beings who looked shocked and guilty!) I am not having a go at the nurses who were wonderful, but the wretched system which plays with people’s lives when they are at their lowest ebb.  Same old same old, no resources, too many sick people.  No one’s really listening though.

One ECG (Fag on predictive text) and Xray later to check why I was still in pain from the so called luxury port, I was finally wired up to go 2 hours late. Luckily I was royally distracted by Jenny who came equiped with a bag of treats and chatted non stop until the drip finally coughed up its last breath 2 hours later.

Magic juice as my mum calls it

Apart from red ants running down my back and into my wonder women pants from the steroids and a unnerving experience of my throat closing up and painful tingling in jaw when I tried to eat, I haven’t had too many bad side effects.  Although to avoid the dreaded sickness I had to take another dose of steroids at 5 which I am told will keep me bouncing off the walls all night.

Just a few pills yummy

Anyone for a rave?

3 thoughts on “Almost as hot as the Maldives but not nearly as pleasant!

  1. The ‘wretched system’ doesn’t excuse the insensitivity of the staff, if anything it should make them more sensitive. That could be your next challenge – how to change the attitude of the medical profession you come in contact with, by letting them see things from the patient’s point of view. It’s easy to forget.

    Needs to be done delicately of course, otherwise you may find yourself sitting on the floor next time!
    xx

  2. I don’t think it can be helped unless there is more funding. The nurses work so hard, there were five nurses for, what, up to 30 chemo patients, some immobile, some reacting badly, some with no ‘chemo friend’, our ‘Sam’ had been working silly hours, no breaks, she said they were 3 nurses down and these weren’t being replaced. They don’t have time to ‘nurse’ they just have to pile him high, get them through the system and out quickly. It sucks. You have cancer, they are going to now poison you, you are going to react (probably), and there are no chairs, your chemo isn’t ready…..really really really dreadful.

  3. Hi Rachel
    I’ve started to have a read through your blogs, at which I am smiling, as you write with such wit and humour and I’m thoroughly enjoying them – sorry to sound so insensitive!! As you know I’m going through the same and can relate to so much! The bit that really brought back memories was the steroids prior to the ‘magic juice’. The tingles in the you know!!! Second round of chemo starts Wednesday (5th March) ……… so undoubtedly the tingles will return in the you know! 😀
    I’m being treated in a different hospital (NHS) and have a USB (I love this reference) fitted and am not a private patient. I guess it’s just the different trusts that run the hospitals who decide. I was also on Poxy Oxy for round one. xx

Leave a Reply

